books. poems. inspiration.

Some books of poems i have, that have left some lasting impressions.

I Shall Not Be Moved by Maya Angelou.

 i brought this book from a second-hand book dealer in Pune. i think it was mainly to make an impression among my “intellectual” “friends”. But reading it changed my perspective about many things.

Image

We Sinful Women. Inspired my first zine, much much later.

Image

Namdeo Dhasal‘s book of poems, translated by Dilip Chitre, “Poet of the Underworld” contains some amazing bits from his iconic works like Golpitha, and Gandu Bagichaa.

Image

Used to have  W H Auden‘s  “The Unknown Citizen” stuck on the pin-board at my desk in the box.  Image

These books are not poem-books, but sheer poetry nevertheless. Haruki Murakami‘s South of the Border, West of the Sun, is lyrical. Inspired another zine of mine.

Milan Kundera‘s The Unbearable Lightness of Being was probably the first poem I read in prose.

Image

There are plenty of other poets I like. I do not have their books with me though…

Image

But Ghalib? I pick his book when I’m deliriously happy. And again, when I’m down in the pits.

Ghalib has saved me countless times. ‘nuf said.

Image

Who are your favorites?

About whizkid

Photographer. Procrastinator.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to books. poems. inspiration.

  1. Thank you – I’ll check some of these out 🙂

Leave a Reply

