Shadow Shot Sunday #6 (49)

Sunday: Australia time. Couldn’t wait till it was Sunday in India to post this week’s SSS.

Had to go to rural Shahpur (some 60 kms and more from Bombay) for work this week. I kept spotting shadows at every turn, but really had to rein myself in. Could not afford to be spotted going berserk with the camera in the villages 🙂

house

Even as we sat, this clean, cow-dung swept floor was busy inviting these sunny shadows into the house. Village: Ghegaon

poppadums

These poppadoms drying in the sun are part of the enterprising local women’s group effort to make a little money on the side. Its packaged and sold later in the nearby markets; the money is pooled back into their savings group. Village: Ghegaon

roof

Once the rain arrives, sometime in late June, this wooden roof frame will see clay tiles. Until then, it serves as the cloth dryer for this family in village Vithalgaon

basket

A once-colourful basket stood on a stack of firewood, under the midday sun, with just a wooden beam casting a narrow shade.

For more shadow shots from around the world, check out Harriet’s blog. Click on the Mr. Linky icon at the end of her post for links to all entries this week.

Happy Sunday!

About whizkid

Photographer. Procrastinator.
This entry was posted in Photography, Sunday Shadow Shot and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Shadow Shot Sunday #6 (49)

  1. sylvia says:

    What a marvelous post! I love your shadow shots! They are all so crisp and sharp! Enjoyed the stroll around your area — makes the shadows all the more interesting! Thank you! Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

  2. Chickensue says:

    Oooh! These are great with a real flavour of india…it brings back memories of all the sights and sounds!
    I love the one of the washing shadows. Wonderful!

  3. Sweet Repose says:

    All such wonderful shots, but I must admit, the first is the most inviting to me…simple, rustic and peaceful and all in a days travel, thanks for the tour and keep on clicking away…;o)

  4. ctmott says:

    Every picture is wonderful..Very interesting..
    Happy SSS.

  5. iheartfilm says:

    Gotta love them poppadoms.

  6. Gemma says:

    Utterly fascinating collection of shadows, letting us experience the soul of the village! Even the washing on the line creates an intriguing piece of shadow art! Beautiful!

  7. a beautiful set of shadow shots…I like them all, and such a different environment to mine..

  8. We just love all of your pictures – they are so wonderful! Our favorite is the one of the drying poppadoms – they make for a fantastic shadow shot!

  9. galleryjuana says:

    Beautiful photo essay of your trip to the village.

  10. PJ says:

    Wonderful, just wonderful. I would love to see more. It’s a great SSS post.

  11. Chie says:

    You really get me! I love every shot you got. It remind me of my lil country Philippines. Missing too…

    Great job!

  12. Chris says:

    Those are some excellent SSS shots. The first one with the doors open just beg to tell a story. Thanks for sharing!

  13. Jeri says:

    Fantastic! These shots are wonderful, thanks for letting us visit this village!!

  14. dianne says:

    I think the clothes line shot is my favorite
    I go beserk with my camera all over town lol

  15. Sarah says:

    I love these photos! I especially like the one of poppadoms drying. When I lived in Leicester I used to be able to see into the gardens at the back of my house and a family who would dry them in the sun on large pieces of sari fabric.

  16. Lily says:

    all lovely & interesting shadows! Nice job!

  17. Chie says:

    Hi there!
    Million tnx for dropping by! I really do appreciate your visit. Hope to see you more in my place & vice versa.

    You really gave me so much ideas in your journey. Above all the colours and the designs. Am crazy!!!

    Cheers for the day!

  18. whizkid says:

    Thanks a lot everyone for your lovely comments 🙂

  19. This is a terrific group of shadow shots. The doorway is perfect and the rest are delightful also. And thanks very much for visiting!

  20. Alicia says:

    wonderful pictures — I enjoyed every single one!

  21. CJ says:

    I especially like the first photo —the painted room and doors, Great light & shadow.

Leave a Reply

